I hate to belabour the point, but I wanted to bring up a few things about the Hall of Fame conundrum.

First off, let me congratulate Roberto Alomar and Bert Blyleven who are both extremely deserving of the immortality they shall now receive.  I am super-psyched that Alomar will likely be the first player to enter the Hall of Fame as a Blue Jay.

The other no-brainer candidate was Jeff Bagwell who many writers did not vote for because they think maybe he did some PEDs in his career.  Maybe.  There’s no evidence and Bagwell has never so much as been linked to anything involving PEDs, but nonetheless, a very deserving first-ballot Hall of Famer received only 41.7% of the BBWAA’s vote.

Why is it that Bagwell is being singled out here?  Isn’t it just as likely that Alomar used PEDs?  I mean, Alomar did see a rather inexplicable increase in power in 1996; and then he did fall off a cliff at a comparably young age.  One could say that he’s as likely to have used as anyone.

Or what of Barry Larkin who was just shy of the needed votes?  Remember when he hit 33 home runs in 1996 and never hit more than 20 in any other year with a 162-game career average of 15?  Seems as likely as Bagwell and Alomar.

I’m not saying any of these players used PEDs in their career, but the logic that will keep Bagwell out, should also keep Alomar and Larkin out.  Hence the problem, the logic is horribly flawed, a.k.a. fucking stupid.

And having thought about it some more, I would have to include Larkin on my ballot (if I had a ballot).  It’s clear that if Alomar gets in, Larkin should too.  I might listen to arguments for Alan Trammell too.

Read Dustin Parkes’ thoughts on the Hall of Fame voting and the role of the BBWAA.  It mirrors my own thoughts on the subject so I can stop talking about it.

Here’s how the BBWAA’s vote broke down

2011 Hall of Fame voting
Name Votes Pct.
Roberto Alomar 523 90.0%
Bert Blyleven 463 79.7%
Barry Larkin 361 62.1%
Jack Morris 311 53.5%
Lee Smith 263 45.3%
Jeff Bagwell 242 41.7%
Tim Raines 218 37.5%
Edgar Martinez 191 32.9%
Alan Trammell 141 24.3%
Larry Walker 118 20.3%
Mark McGwire 115 19.8%
Fred McGriff 104 17.9%
Dave Parker 89 15.3%
Don Mattingly 79 13.6%
Dale Murphy 73 12.6%
Rafael Palmeiro 64 11.0%
Juan Gonzalez 30 5.2%
Harold Baines 28 4.8%
John Franco 27 4.6%
Kevin Brown 12 2.1%
Tino Martinez 6 1.0%
Marquis Grissom 4 0.7%
Al Leiter 4 0.7%
John Olerud 4 0.7%
B.J. Surhoff 2 0.3%
Bret Boone 1 0.2%
Benito Santiago 1 0.2%
Carlos Baerga 0 0.0%
Lenny Harris 0 0.0%
Bobby Higginson 0 0.0%
Charles Johnson 0 0.0%
Raul Mondesi 0 0.0%
Kirk Rueter 0 0.0%
Note: 436 votes (75%) required for enshrinement. Induction July 24, 2011 in Cooperstown, N.Y. 



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s